Gallery

Headboard & Bed Frame

One of our first major projects for our new house (aside from painting) was upgrading to a king-sized mattress and finding a headboard we both agreed on.  That proved to be a challenge.  There was nothing that really jumped out at us and matched both of our styles.  So off to Pinterest I went.  I found two amazing options from Shanty2Chic on their website!  After going back and forth on which one to choose, we landed on this beauty.

Click on the photograph to go to the Shanty2Chic page for this DIY project!

Click on the photograph to go to the Shanty2Chic page for this DIY project!

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/284571270180467674/

DSC_0075

I could not have been more excited when it came time to start this project.  We had to adjust the dimensions for this project from the original Shanty2Chic post.  Their post was for a full size bed and we wanted it to fit a king bed.  My husband spent a great deal of time at Home Depot picking out just the right pieces of wood.  He did an amazing job finding quality wood with great character.  My husband and father-in-law started the project late on a Saturday night and the new bed frame and headboard were in my master bedroom by the following Tuesday.  I would say that is a pretty quick turn around.

Headboard Prep Collage

I am totally clueless when it comes to construction, but as we tackle more DIY projects from Pinterest, I hope to learn a lot from my husband.  It seemed to be a very tedious process, cutting the different pieces, staining the wood with the four difference colors of stain, and then assembly.  My husband really seems to enjoy these types of projects.  I was able to put in some time helping on the final steps of the headboard.  So at 10:30 on a Monday night, with school the next day, our headboard was finished.  The whole project turned out amazing!
Headboard Post

I have been waiting to post anything with the finished project and brand new bedding to my personal social media, which has been really hard.  I wanted my first post for this blog to be our headboard and bed frame.  I look forward to showing off this amazing project when people visit our home.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I would definitely call this our first Pinterest WIN!  Keep scrolling for all of the fine details of our construction process, wood stain choices, and where we found our bedding!

-Keep on Pinning!-
Emily

UPDATE: Our project was posted to Shanty-2-Chic’s reader projects!  You can check it out here!  http://www.shanty-2-chic.com/2015/08/master-suite-headboard-and-bed-frame.html

Bedding:
Sheet Set – Gordman’s
Comforter Set – Better Homes & Garden Pintuck 3-Piece Comforter Set (King-White)

Stains:
Golden Oak (Minwax)
Early American (Minwax)
Dark Walnut (Minwax)
Jacobean (Minwax)
Clear Coat (Polycrylic-Minwax)

Lumber:
DSC_0088
       DSC_0089

One thought on “Headboard & Bed Frame

Leave a Reply

